ANCAP Safety Ratings Explained

ANCAP safety ratings are published for a range of new passenger, sports utility (SUV) and light commercial vehicles (LCV) entering the Australian and New Zealand markets, using a rating system of 0 to 5 stars.

Rating System of ANCAP

Our vision is:
Safe vehicles for all.

Our star ratings indicate the level of safety a vehicle provides for occupants and pedestrians in the event of a crash, as well as its ability — through technology — to avoid or minimise the effects of a crash. These independent safety ratings are used to compare the relative safety between vehicles of similar mass.

ANCAP safety ratings are determined based on a series of internationally recognised, independent crash tests and safety assessments – involving a range of destructive physical crash tests, an assessment of on-board safety features and equipment, and performance testing of active collision avoidance technologies.

From 1 January 2018, vehicles will be evaluated against four key areas:

  • Adult Occupant Protection (AOP)

  • Child Occupant Protection (COP)

  • Vulnerable Road User Protection (VRU)

  • Safety Assist (SA)

A range of tests and assessments are conducted within each area, with vehicles required to meet minimum score thresholds for each star rating level. The overall star rating of a vehicle is limited by its lowest performing area of assessment.

When Buying a Car, What Should You Look For?

To encourage continuous improvement by vehicle brands and ensure consumers are provided with the safest cars possible, ANCAP’s test criteria has increased incrementally over its 25-year history. See our evolution timeline opposite.

In 2018, the ANCAP safety rating system experiences its greatest change to date – implementing new test and assessment protocols and scoring methods that are common across Australasia (Australia & New Zealand) and Europe.

While ANCAP’s rating criteria broaden, the message remains simple.

Look for a vehicle which holds the maximum 5-star ANCAP safety rating with the latest ‘datestamp’.

Continue reading…

For more 4WD tips, reviews and articles from Eureka 4WD visit our blog page

Feeling adventurous? Then join us on a Eureka 4WD Training Course – we have courses to suit all levels of 4WD skill and experience.

Looking for Commercial 4WD courses or Certified 4WD courses? Visit our Commercial training page and find the course that will take your career to the next level.

Have you heard? Eureka 4WD has launched a training app design specifically for 4WDing – and the best part is that it is completely free!
Now you can have an expert with you at all times – available for Android and Apple users in the respective app stores.

Need a truck license? Eureka now offers HR, HC and MC truck training through Eureka Truck Training

More news from Eureka

Black Friday 4WD Sale 2022

Black Friday 4WD Sale with Eureka 4WD Training!!! Save a MASSIVE 25% on all Recreational 4WD Courses this Black Friday!!!Book any Recreational 4WD Course between the 23rd of November and the 27th of November and